February 26, 2006

Chain Chain Chaaaaain!

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away, a gal named Clipchick (chippy to her friends) received a Mystery CD from a renowned and knowledgeable cool cat named Smed.
Somehow, she was lucky to get away with any copyright infringement inflicted upon her from a certain Mr. George Lucas. Isn't she lucky?

Anyway...

In doing her part to continue the incredibly fun (and, surprisingly enough, mysterious!) contest, Chippy, after guessing (rather poorly, I'm afraid) at the artists on her Mystery CD, was compelled to have a contest for the next winner in the chain...

And so...I present:



GoingLoopy's Mystery CD Review! (insert trumpet blaring sounds here, if you feel the urge. If not, I'll forgive you.)


Ms. Loopy received a CD from me the other day with instructions to listen to the songs and provide a review. Knowing all the artists isn't a pre-requisite or anything, but giving an honest opinion is.

{I first recommend going HERE
to check out what she thought of each of the songs. It's kind of fun to be in the dark and have no idea what the songs really are, as she is, and then switching back here to see what the music actually was. There's no Protocol Police on this, though. If you feel like being sassy and going backwards, then be my guest. If you'd like to go back and forth between the sites, that's cool too, as I'm a stat whore and would like to feel that I am read a lot...}

There's really no rules as to what someone can put on the Mystery CD, but personally, I think that one of the unwritten rules should be "must have 1-2 songs that feature the cowbell". Otherwise, it's just not as fun.

I also have to say that I had a major blast getting this all put together and burned. I want to thank her for her patience, though, since I was a wee bit challenged by not having my own personal computer to make the CD with. Thanks to my friend Tee for helping a sister out. Thanks again, Loop, for your patience with me.

I probably also took it a little easy on this CD, but I wanted to pass on songs that I loved, even if people may know the songs too. I'm not sure if that's breaking the rules or not. If I did, then consider me a rebel!

So, anyway, without any further ado, here are the songs on the Mystery CD:

1. Poe-Hello (Hello): A lovely little ditty that starts off a CD nicely in my opinion. It's not too fast, not too slow, and has a pretty interesting melody.

2. Smashing Pumpkins-Mayonaise (Siamese Dream): This one's about the same speed, but it's nice in the way that it has its moments of quietness and of supremely loud cool guitar licks. A pretty classic Smashing Pumpkins song...

3.US3-Cantaloupe {Flip Fantasia} (Hand on the Torch): Great song, great horns. One of those songs that everybody's heard before but not many people know the artist or the title. A great road trip song!

4. Herbie Hancock-Dis Is Da Drum (Dis Is Da Drum): Here's one of the cowbell songs for ya! It's a cacophony of horns, drums, cowbell, synthesizer, and crazy singing. A fun song that always makes my toes tap.

5. Dale Dale & His Del-Tones-Misirlou (Pulp Fiction Soundtrack): Of course, I had to include the Honey-bunny-with-Turret's Syndrome dialogue before the song. I figured a gal from OK could use with a little Callie surfer music during the winter months.

6. The Fabulous Hedgehogs-Dig (Dig): A great song from a 4 guy band-drums, lead guitar, trombone/saxophone, and a stand up bass. It's a fun song. Take my word for it.

7. Violent Femmes-Gone Daddy Gone (Add it Up 1981-1993): In my opinion, this should be a gimme for EVERYONE . If you don't know or have heard of the Femmes, you need to be tied down and forcibly "introduced" to them. Period. See how nice I am with the easy ones so far? Just wait, because then we go into:

8. Smoking Popes-Rubella (Born To Quit): A lovely little ditty about a man contracting the measles, to:

9. Los Fabulosos Cadillacs-El Matador (Grosse Point Blank Soundtrack):. It's awesome, but don't ask me to translate it word for word. I do know that it has to do with a bullfight, but it's a terrific sound! It sounds like my neighborhood should, if they were cool enough to turn down the bass a bit and equalize all parts. As it is, if you want to know how my neighborhood sounds on any and all weekends, turn up the bass and have a go!

10. Fat Boy Slim-Praise You (a mixed DJ disc): Everyone's heard this great song, but most people aren't lucky enough to have heard the extended DJ mix with lots and lots of synthesizers AND cowbell!

11. Blind Melon-Three Is A Magic Number (School House Rock! Rocks): Yes, that School House Rock song. My favorite one of all, because Three is a magic number, and because Blind Melon does a better version of it than the original.

12. The Cranberries-Linger (Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can't We?): Another fabo song with beautiful lyrics and a haunting, lilting melody.

13. Fat Chick From Wilson Philips-Drive to the Moon (Chico Alchemy): Ok, so the song's not absolute classic composition, but it IS a band from California's #1 party Local, Chico. Also, the name friggen' rules. The melody's not bad, just simple...

14. Fear of Pop-In Love(Baby's 1st Dance Party-DJ Max, Volume II): This one's super cool, because I'm pretty positive it's got William Shatner doing the "vocals" on this one...the lyrics are funny as heck, and it's designed to make you smile.

15. Duran Duran-Come Undone (Duran Duran): This is one of their later ones that is actually good, in my opinion...

16. Moby-God Moving Over the Face of the Earth (I Like To Score): This is that instrumental song that is beautiful, but simultaneously pisses me off because it appears to be popping up in every. freaking. commercial. out. there. I heard it for a software company, then for a shoe company. Then our local public television station used it. Ack! Moby's a total sellout.

17. Moloko-Sing It Back (Slip Hop-DJ Max6): Great clubbing type song. Nice melody, nice energy...I like it! It then segues (badly, I might add) to:

18. Ciobo Mato-Spoon (Slip Hop-DJ Max6) : I think this is a nice upbeat song to end off this CD. Nice energy, good beat, and catchy, (if not slightly addictive) chorus. Yay!

So, that's it. It's now up to Loopy to figure out where to go next, and who gets the privilege of being the next victim recipient of the Mystery CD.


By the way, I had a boatload of songs that wouldn't fit onto the darn CD. These songs were:

Kielbasa, by Tenacious D.
Hit, by the Sugarcubes
My Cat's Name is Maceo, by Jane's Addiction
Home, by Sheryl Crow
Sucks to Be You, by Prozzak
I Deserve it, by Madonna
Beer:30, by the Reverend Horton Heat

I guess I should figure out how to make a CD longer. Either that, or I should make a "Double Mystery CD Contest"...

If anyone wants a copy of my Mystery CD, (even though it's short a few more songs than I wanted it to be) I'd be happy to send you one. I, however am not hooked up to the Psychic Network, just the Psychotic one. You'll have to let me know that you want one, ok?

Have a great day!

~Toodles!




clipchick at 12:50 p.m.

Yesterday | Tomorrow

All thoughts, ideas, and musings are � Clipchick. Please don't snipe my stuff!

free hit counter
Free Hit Counter