August 28, 2006

Insert Title Here

Hey, it's only been 57 days since I said that I'd be updating more recently.

It appears that my record has improved. Wow.

I'm on vacation yet again, kids. Our 3rd year anniversary is on the 30th. Sometimes it doesn't feel anywhere close to 3 years. Sometimes it feels like 30.

We're consumed completely with the joys of re-financing the house. The appraiser is coming on Thursday to tell us what fabulous homeowners we are. Maybe we'll win the prize of the most super cool homebodies in the neighborhood.

I think the chances of several monkeys shooting out of my ass are more likely, however.

Either way, it's a fine thing because I'm finally getting the baseboards put in my house instead of having the pleasure of tripping over them in the garage like I have been for the past 6 months. Lucky me!

Plus, instead of simply looking in the back yard and thinking "Hmmm. I really should be (trimming the bushes, pulling the weeds, turning the compost, reducing the rosemary to a 4 foot tangle from an 8 foot mess, tending the garden, fertilizing the orange tree, pruning the roses) I'm actually doing it.

It's amazing what a few hours a day can do. I really wish I've done it sooner.

Now, I KNOW I'm talking like we've totally let the house go to shit, but we haven't. I tend to obsess about small tasks to the point where, in my mind, they're these ginormous, unatainable chores that have no end and are impossible to finish. In reality, they're just simple every day shit. I've just managed to talk myself into the fact that they're too huge for me to do without the aid of the Coast Guard and the Red Cross.

I've noticed, however, that once I actually step foot out into the yard and, well, TRY, that they're no big deal at all. I've even taught myself how to use tools that I wasn't even sure I could lift. Weed wackers are fun, by the way. So are leaf blowers and these huge 2 handled pruners. I'm not too sure that some of the plants in my backyard are quite as thrilled about that fact as I am.

So, suffice it to say that I'm pretty damn proud of myself.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's amazing how fast time flies, though. I was just on vacation well, approximately 52 days ago, and here I am again. It may seem to you that all I do is take vacation, but frankly, up until the end of June, it had been quite a while since I'd had any time off.

The damn thing is, I had WAAAAAYY too many hours stacked up, and I've been told to take some before I become in danger of losing it. That loosely translates to, in MY company speak, "We don't want to have to cut your masochistic ass an extra check because, well, money's tight since we've gone and bought yet another company to absorb into our evil paperclip empire, so just hurry up and get out of our face for a week or two, ok?"

I HAVE taken the time to catch up on all of you. With that said, of COURSE I haven't had any time to write myself, because all of you have been quite the chatterboxes, haven't you? Although I really like to hear what's going on, and although I read quite quickly, I get a little intimidated about writing myself.

I mean, your lives all seem so much more eventful, and well, interesting than mine is right now. However, that reminds me that sometimes uneventful is a good thing. If you've got nothing that's convoluting your life and making you feel challenged, sometimes that's good. On the other hand, that can be quite boring, but since this has been a very eventful year so far, I'll take the dull with a smile.

And, things here have been far from boring. Hubby and I have been getting along really well, and have been very productive. We've both been learning, (although sometimes it's been a slow process) that work is far from everything. There's life after the 8 hours you put into the company that pays you to be there. We've really been focusing on enjoying each other's company (read: Trying to Become Breeders) and the practicing has been F.U.N.!!!!!!!!

We went to Walla Walla Washington in July to see his Dad's new place. It was a blast, actually, although there really wasn't that much to do. I'll describe it as long as you keep in mind that it was MUCH more fun than it sounds.

His Dad moved just outside of a town called Touche (pronounced Toushie. Wow, there were a lot of messed up jokes on that one) on 10 acres. They have this incredibly hugantic house that's (in my humble and slightly jealous opinion) entirely too much house for him, his wife, and their two poodles. In addition to that, they have this grain elevator that's over 100 years old, built entirely by hand. Of course, they're not using it, but the damn thing's LARGE.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Just to give you a better perspective, Hubby's 6'4", and this thing dwarfs him:
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

The bonus of all this is that it even comes with its own haunted house. This is the original house that was on the property from who knows when. Instead of taking it down, they moved it behind this HUGE work shed (where we staying inside in their RV)

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

And just dropped it a little ways over from the other house.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

We were there to celebrate his Grandmother's 95th birthday.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Most of his family's from Canada, and the bulk of them live in the Sakatchawan area. So, I basically hung out with a bunch of super cool Canadians and tried really hard not to pick up their accents and way of speaking. I failed miserably, however, and came home saying all the cool catch phrases.

Hubby's Dad collects John Deere tractors. Not the little minatures, the actual tractors. He's got about 50+ of them.

Part of the fun we had was to drink a lot and to "ride" them:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

(Don't tell Hubby I put that picture up, ok? I've got others that are more incrimintating, but I still don't think he'll take that into account)

We had a good time, all in all. Here's a picture of just how damn cute we are:

Have I mentioned just how cool Photobucket is? Because it sure is. It resized everything, and hosts all these images for free. Plus, from what I can tell, you can load a gillion photos on it, and it doesn't complain or tell you that you're close to your limit. If you haven't checked it out, I would suggest you go for it.

Well, it's been fun getting caught up a little. I don't really feel as if I've said to much, but hey, it's a start.

If all goes well, I'll take some pictures of our cool little garden and do a before and after photo show for you. We've got some interesting stuff growing this year, including pimentos, eggplant, and amarinth. If the Evil Neighborhood Bunny hadn't gotten in the yard, we may have had some corn this year too. C'est La Vie.

In case anyone's wondering what's up with the bees this year, the answer is nothing.

I should be extracting honey, but it's been pretty cold for it lately. Usually, we'd need to extract when it's at least 90 degrees out in order for the honey to "flow" better. It just hasn't been that warm. Plus, to be honest with you, when we moved the hives back into the back yard from their jaunt to the almond orchards, I actually got stung twice. In the armpit. Before that, I hadn't been stung in eons. I think I was 8 the last time, and I forgot how much it friggen hurt. I didn't have an armpit after that. I had an arm mountain. It went away after some Benadryl, but I was swearing up a storm.

Needless to say, I'm burnt on the bee thing. Anyone want to buy 3 hives? I'll make you a deal. Cheap.

~Toodles!

clipchick at 11:56 a.m.

Yesterday | Tomorrow

All thoughts, ideas, and musings are � Clipchick. Please don't snipe my stuff!

free hit counter
Free Hit Counter