September 20, 2005

I'm about A Quart Low...

This is only a quick little post to say the following:

I've FINALLY downloaded the bee honey extraction pictures and will most likely be posting most of them tomorrow. It may be a two parter, who knows?

Gave blood today. The stupid little finger prick (ha! I said prick!) hurt worse than the actual extraction. I must say that I'm feeling mighty special, because out of the four people that went to donate from work, I was the ONLY ONE who was accepted. Various reasons, and not just because I'm super nice, cool, witty, and good looking. (I swear to you that it's my modesty that makes me so great, how many times must I tell you?) J had really high blood pressure (she was really nervous), EV was anemic, and E had lived in Germany for 3 years during 1980-1990 and may possibly be a carrier of Mad Cow Disease (it sounds way cooler when you say that in an ominous, horror movie voice). Unfortunately for E, the only way to determine if you are a carrier is through an autopsy. I figure that no one would want to know THAT bad, and by the time you got the results, I mean honestly, would you care?

Anyway, back to me. (It's always about me...at least here!) I felt a tich light headed when it was all done. It reminded me of how I felt after I smoked my first cigarette, minus the bad taste and the smell. The funniest part of all was that the guy that helped me was obviously pretty new (he had a "trainer" watching his every move and giving advice) and, the big bonus: He was wearing an eyepatch. So, here I am, just a little anxious about all this, being assisted by the one eyed new guy! I'm not prejudiced or anything, but it doesn't give you a lot of confidence that he's going to succeed at hitting your arm vein on the first shot. That's all I'm really saying. He took care of that problem by drawing two Ginormous purple lines on either side of my vein. I guess it made hitting the target easier.

Either way, I didn't have much to worry about, as it didn't hurt, wasn't as big of a deal as I remembered last time, I got this really cool headrush that lasted about 20 minutes, and I got to hang out and have 2 glasses of mango/guava/orange juice, a chocolate covered Rice Krispie Treat, and a bag of Cheese Nips. Oh yeah, did I mention that my work paid me for all of this?

I already have an appointment for November 19th to do it all again. It's only about 2 miles from my house, and even though I can't really afford to donate anything to the Red Cross for disaster relief, I seem to have plenty of blood. And, it's free.

Before I go, I'm going to leave you with a few vocabulary words that I've been using lately. I'm not saying that any of them are my own. I've heard them around recently and they're really fun to say. I thought I'd pass along some of the enjoyment.

CRAPTASTIC-(as in, far from terrific)
GINORMOUS-(very, very large)-see also HUGANTIC

Ok, this one's not just one word, but one of my favorite phrases to describe when someone doesn't have it together. Instead of describing that person as "Not having their shit together", you say instead "Their shit is all apart". Got that one from my obsession favorite famous guy of all time Henry Rollins.

Must run-keep an eye out for the bee entry-I promise that it will be educational and picture filled...

~Toodles~

P.S. Go check out His-Holiness and look at his work today. It made me cry, anyway! Because, you know, the truth hurts. I also recommend keeping an eye out for his work at this site. That is, if you like to see good stuff. If you want to see stuff that sucks, I'll happily draw something for you.

clipchick at 5:55 p.m.

Yesterday | Tomorrow

All thoughts, ideas, and musings are � Clipchick. Please don't snipe my stuff!

free hit counter
Free Hit Counter